Skip navigation


Sorry about not posting on Sunday world but the hubby and I were at the gym, doing stuff around the apartment, and then went to my mother’s house for a swim and dinner.

I Didn’t See it Coming                                                                                                                                                                

When my boss called me into her office, I thought she wanted to discuss another project. She told me to sit down. I jokingly asked if I was being fired.  Her answer of “Not exactly” was “Not Exactly” what I was expecting to hear. I was confused. She began to explain that the owner of the company had consultants come in to analyze the books and see where he was and wasn’t making money. Apparently, our department was floundering. Who knew? After I got my promotion, my boss was talking about hiring a bigger staff! She explained how she had made arrangements for me to be transferred to another department along with another co-worker. REALLY? Let me just tell you that this wasn’t the first time this had happened. This department had gone under before and I was transferred once before to a department run by Sargent Hulka working 4 a.m.-noon! When I could no longer take working those hours, I wrote a letter of resignation. That same day, the IT Director from the old department came in and told me the department was being resurrected and the editorial director wanted me back in that department. I thought it was a blessing! I loved that job! I got a promotion only to lose my job again and be transferred to yet another department! The destination now was something that had nothing to do with my degree. It was either take the transfer or take a severence package and collect unemployment.

When I called my husband and told him, he flipped out. He couldn’t believe it. What you need to know is, my husband is from the midwest so he is as laid back and low key as they come. I mean he has his moments, but he is nothing like me. I am not even going to lie. I am a loud Jersey Italian American girl. In fact, my nickname is Jersey and I proudly have it tagged around my neck on a chain. A friend of mine bought it for me. My husband was cursing and asking why they promoted me in the first place. I wondered that too. It made absolutely no sense to me. He too was beside himself.

I was told the database and my boss were going to a company where our database originated which was within the tristate area. Needless to say my husband and I were both disgusted and at that point had just about enough.

One Comment

  1. Hello Lisa:
    I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed reading about you. And the feeling of really finding out who you are and what your about. You inspired me to keep some kind of record of my thoughts , feelings, hopes and dreams too.
    Thanks for the read
    Lenny


Leave a Reply

