Skip navigation


Good Morning everyone! Sorry about not posting yesterday. It was a busy day and the hubby wasn’t feeling well at night. To continue:

Made a Deal with the Devil

Monday came quicker than I would have liked. Going to work was not exciting anymore. I still had two months left in the department. I thought the work I was doing was a total waste of time considering. After talking with my husband, we thought it was best if I took the transfer to the other department since the salary and benefits would stay the same. I honestly didn’t want that but there are two people in a marriage.

After leaving work that Monday, I met my husband at our chiropractor’s office. I will refer to the chiropracter as “Kevin” or other various words. My husband had arrived before I did. We were both early. He sat in my car until we had to go inside for our appointment. I picked my husband’s brain to find out what he thought about looking into one of those women’s circuit fitness centers. While we knew nothing about them, we knew our chiropracter owned a bunch of them. Let me just add that when we first went to this specific chiropracter for a consultation, we explained we were interested in working with someone who was going to be up front with us, someone who had no hidden agendas, or no hidden costs. We gave him a brief synopsis about what had happened to us at our prior chiropractor’s office in West Jersey.  We explained how we were being over billed and how he didn’t let us know when we ran out of insurance money and then handed us a large bill.  The only thing this snake oil salesman said in response to that was, “I will always be straight with you but I can’t promise you that we may not have to do some different things.”

Weeks went by and discussions started heating up between my husband and I about a women’s fitness facility. We started performing internet searches. We found forums, the company website that detailed a purchase, and different reviews. Top business magazines were rating it the #1 facility to own.  From what we were reading, it sounded like a good investment. It seemed very popular. The idea was that if we did this, I would continue to keep my job in client services once I was transferred. I would eventually work in the facility full-time and quit my job.

It was a Friday night. It was time for our weekly ritual of Chinese takeout, a nice bottle of wine, and Ghost Whisperer. During our dinner conversation my husband suggested we go in and look at one of the women’s gyms. He also said he was going to feel the waters with this chiropracter to see what he had to say. 

You can imagine the irony of the situation when my husband told Kevin that we were interested in one of these gyms. The snake oil salesman told him he just happened to be downsizing and selling off his gyms to quote “Spend more time with his family.” A Ha Interesting . . . In any case, my husband set up a meeting with him for the end of the week so we could sit down and discuss this possible business venture.

When the end of the week arrived and we met with the good doctor, what he said to us to lower our guard was terrible. To start off, we sat in his office for fifteen minutes before he came in. When he entered, he apologized and made a comment about an insurance blip. “Kevin” sat down and started explaining how he owned six of the fitness facilities and how out of the six, he just sold two of them not too long ago. He said he was trying to sell them all and focus on chiropractic. The story he told next was the heart breaking tale. He explained how the picture hanging on the wall over his desk was of his baby son who had died. He went on to say how sick over it his wife and he were, how life was too short, and he didn’t want to own a bunch of businesses anymore. He wanted to just focus on one so he could spend more time with his wife and other kids because you never knew what life would bring. “Kevin” explained more about the business, what kind of profits he had made, how many members were in the facility he wanted to sell us, and what the cost would be. He referred to it as “This great price of $99,000.” Great price of $99,000? Sounds like an oxymoron to me now. 

To be continued . . .

Leave a Reply

