Skip navigation


Sorry for on and off posts but my hubby has been sick. He starting to feel better now :-). Depending on how the hubby feels today, we are supposed to go friends’ annual end of the summer party and then to the Giants preseason game against the Steelers. We are season ticket holders and spilt the season with my brothers. Looking forward to the new stadium. I am one of those crazy female football fanatics! Trust me. What you would see of me is nothing like what you would see when I am at or watching a football game. Just call me one of the guys without the beer!

Last I mentioned we borrowed $10,000 from my father to give to the landlord as a 6 month security deposit. There were so many things that happened that were definitely signs from God or a higher power whatever your preference, but we ignored every one of them.  Did you ever hear that story of the man standing on the roof with the floods coming? He was initailly warned beforehand and told to evacuate but he didn’t heed the warning and said no no God would save him. The waters rose to a point where a boat came and told him to get in. He said no no God was going to save him. The floods got worse. Next a helicopter came and he was on the last part of the roof that was above water. The man said no no God was going to save him. The helicopter flew away. Meanwhile the house went under water and the guy drowned. When he got to the pearly gates, he asked Jesus why he didn’t come and save him. Jesus explained how he sent people to warn him, a boat, and a helicopter. The moral of the story sometimes we are being saved from a horrible situation when we don’t even know we are being saved. We are always looking for a big miracle or the big sign when it’s the little miracles or little signs that save us.

As time went on, things got more and more hectic. I was going to work in the department I hated but I still kept in touch with my old boss. She and I would IM throughout the day. Right before the closing on the franchise, she offered me a part-time job doing what I did when I received my promotion but working from home for the associate company. It was very convenient. I would be able to work from home doing the job I loved and if there was an emergency at my business, I could drive 10 minutes and be there or work the late afternoon shift at the business. We thought it was a win win situation so I quit my full-time job to work at the associate company part-time from home. Our small business consultant didn’t approve. It was this decision and one other big one that pushed “Phil” over the edge. Remember in the last post I mentioned how “Kevin” did not want to give us the money from the prepay memberships? Well my husband and I set up a meeting with “Kevin” at the gym to discuss this. We figued without the prepay memberships we would not have enough money in our business account to cover the beginnings of expenses. While LEGALLY all prepays were ours, we didn’t know that and thought this would take a legal battle which we really couldn’t afford so we agreed to split the prepay memberships with him. That knocked about $6,000 off the purchase price. We negotiated this into our Intent Letter. No one thought this was a smart move. Again what did we know? We had zero contact with our attorney who, if we did contact her, billed us for every email, every phone call, and every question. She even had the audacity to bill us for my husband doing her a favor. My husband dropped off documents to her. She billed us for my husband walking into the lobby and her walking out to receive the documents. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Our small business consultant wouldn’t get back to us quickly when “Kevin” wanted immediate decisions so we felt forced to make decisions on our own. “Kevin” knew that and that is why he did it because he knew we were emotional and would make the wrong decisions. He just LOVED to tell my husband how I wore my emotions on my sleeve and didn’t know how to “keep my cards close to my chest.” Anyone that knows me knows that I am not a game player. I say what I feel. I act how I act. You like it great. You dont? That’s great too! I am not manipulating, a liar, a cheat, or a sneak. Neither is my husband. This in turn is why we would never make good business owners.

To be continued . . .

One Comment

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog and love it.

    Sorry for all the lousy moments you describe, but c ongratulations on being a survivor. That comes through loud and clear.

    Keep the writing coming.


Leave a Reply

